From 18 to 21: State starts enforcing tobacco law

A new law signed by Gov. Kate Brown in August, retailers can no longer sell tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems, such as a pipe or vaporizing device, to people younger than 21. Oregon Health Authority's Public Health Division, with support from Oregon State Police, will begin enforcing the law January 1. ( Pixabay.com photo )

A new law signed by Gov. Kate Brown in August, retailers can no longer sell tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems, such as a pipe or vaporizing device, to people younger than 21. Oregon Health Authority's Public Health Division, with support from Oregon State Police, will begin enforcing the law January 1. (Pixabay.com photo)

Oregon Health Authority has released this reminder that enforcement begins January 1 regarding the new state law that made 21 the legal age to buy tobacco products:

PORTLAND —Oregon will soon start enforcing a new law that raised the required minimum age to legally buy or obtain tobacco products from 18 to 21.

SB 754, known as Tobacco 21, has been in effect since Gov. Kate Brown signed it into law August 9, with enforcement and fines beginning January 1.

Oregon is the fifth state to increase the age to purchase tobacco, after California, Hawaii, Maine, and New Jersey.

The earlier kids start using tobacco, the more at risk they are for becoming addicted to tobacco and developing chronic diseases such as heart disease, asthma and cancer.
— Dr. Katrina Hedberg, Oregon Health Authority Public Health Division

Under the new law, retailers can no longer sell tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems, such as a pipe or vaporizing device, to people younger than 21. Violations of the law are punishable by a fine of $50 for employees, $250 for store managers, and $500 for store owners; for managers and owners, the fines double by the third offense.

OHA’s Public Health Division is authorized to enforce the minimum age of tobacco sales law and coordinates with Oregon State Police to conduct state-sponsored compliance inspections.

Dr. Katrina Hedberg, Oregon’s state health officer and epidemiologist based at the Oregon Health Authority Public Health Division, said raising the minimum age for buying tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems is a proven way to reduce youth initiation of tobacco use. She noted nine of 10 adults report they started smoking before they were 19, and nearly 100 percent start before age 26.

"The earlier kids start using tobacco, the more at risk they are for becoming addicted to tobacco and developing chronic diseases such as heart disease, asthma and cancer," Hedberg said. "Raising the legal sale age for tobacco products to 21 can reduce smoking rates and reduce tobacco-related deaths."

Help is available for anyone in Oregon ready to quit tobacco. Call Oregon’s toll-free Quit Line at 800-QUIT-NOW (800-784-8669) or, for Spanish, 855-DEJELO-YA (855-335356-92), or visit the Quit Line website in English or in Spanish.

People who see a retailer selling tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems to someone younger than 21 can report the violation via email. Make sure to include the business name, address, and other information.

Learn more about Tobacco 21 at the OHA website. A YouTube video about the new law is available as well.